Malicious Intent (Villanelle for Creative writing class)

Bethany Herold

29 July 2015

ENG 221 1N1

194 Word Count

Malicious Intent

Are you happy with the malicious path you have chosen?
Your rumor spreads like wildfire, engulfing everything pure and whole.
Sticks and stones may break my bones, but your words are truly poison.

You claim you speak truth, but only cause confusion.
Hostile whispers in the dark send shivers through my soul.
Are you happy with the malicious path you have chosen?

These accusations are unwarranted and unproven.
Does not your hatred take its toll?
Sticks and stones may break my bones, but your words are truly poison.

From some misguided mindset you seek out restitution.
Brazen actions allude that you are vying for control.
Are you happy with the malicious path you have chosen?

Careless onlookers sneer and seek my social execution.
Tears well up in my eyes as I resist the urge to crawl into a hole.
Sticks and stones may break my bones, but your words are truly poison.

It may appear your vindictive ways have won.
But in reality, you have inspired me to achieve a goal.
Are you happy with the malicious path you have chosen?
Sticks and stones may break my bones, but your words are truly poison.

Leave a Reply

